The Hæven of Punyal

Cover image Reviews:


The Hæven of Punyal is the second book in the Mar Enmig series. The first book is called The Dæmon of Cormagan, and the third book is called The Beatitude of Suvita.

Punyal the assassin has gone missing, and his estranged sister, Capa, wants to find out what happened to him. Together with her partner Velas, one of the best engineers outside of London, she investigates what happened. Together they uncover a mystery that gets deeper with every step they take. Forces that would prefer the past to remain shrouded at working against them and eventually Capa can no longer remain an observer.

This is Maarten Hofman's second book set in a mediterranean steampunk world with action, adventure, and several mysteries.

Sample: Read the first chapter

The book has a number of wonderful illustrations done by Marlon Teunissen. Find more of her work here, or read the 'making of' blog, which will also feature updates regarding the next episode, "The Bætitude of Suvita".

Only $2.99 at Amazon!

Hofman's books have things going on at multiple levels, you can find yourself thinking about another layer you see "between the lines".

- M.H. McCloskey, Amazon reviewer

Reviews of the previous book, The Dæmon of Cormagan:

It's a well thought out story with a good build up. Very enjoyable read.

- M. Irons, Amazon reviewer

The combination of myth and imagination is so powerful that you are amazed at how they mingle with each other.

- Saman, Amazon reviewer